29
Oct
09

Girl-Drive: Badass Feminist Roadtrip!

I just stumbled across an article in The Reader about Nona Willis Aronowitz and Emma Bee Bernstein, two young women who set off on a cross-country roadtrip to interview all kinds of women — old, young, conservative, liberal, rich, poor — about what feminism means to them.

They blogged about it and then they wrote a book about it and then maybe the Tigress book club will read that book after finishing up with the harrowing, ridiculous, un-put-downable “Valley of the Dolls”. Or maybe the Tigresses will just take off on a road trip of their own. Who’s with me?!

roadtrip

5 Responses to “Girl-Drive: Badass Feminist Roadtrip!”


  1. 1 tigress d
    October 29, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    P.S. I was wrong about the women being young and old. I’ve been reading the blog and it seems they’re all twentysomething. Which is interesting too. The next generation of young feminists.

  2. 2 Pro-Woman Pro-life
    October 31, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Ok so this may not be the kind of comments you are looking for, but here are some thoughts from a different type of promoter of Woman’s rights. I write this because I want all women to have happy lives. I also write this because I believe you are thoughtful women and I hope I challenge you to think more about some of the mainstream Feminist assumptions. So here it goes. I checked out the girl drive website and was viewing some of their interviews. The women were interviewing a woman who worked as an abortion activist in Texas. Something really struck me and hit home that this divide in our country is so huge. The interviewers asked the woman about how she deals with “people who are religious and just say its a life and that is it.” The ladies seemed so dismissive of the fact that it could possibly be a life growing inside a Mother’s womb. Does that make you crazy or a religious fanatic or stupid to think so? I wonder if that woman has looked at an ultrasound or read the science on a child’s development in the womb or carried a child in her womb, its amazing! If it isn’t life, I don’t know what is. Having been an active supporter and volunteer at Crisis Pregnancy services, I also object to the woman’s blanket statement that pro-lifers do nothing to help the problem. That is ignorant. There are so many initiatives all over the country to help prevent teen pregnancy. There are Big Sister Organizations where college girls and young professional woman help take individual middle school and high school girls under their wing to help them navigate the teen years, think about career and life goals, and help them with homework and just be their friend when no one else seems to care. There are Leadership programs for young girls that teach them to be effect leaders, to respect themselves and their peers, to set goals. Abstinence programs (teenage girls can get pregnant with condoms and the pill, not to mention STDs). Having spent many hours on such endeavors myself, I find her dismissive comments frustrating. On the other end, I argue that Planned parenthood is a business, there are no follow up appointments required after an abortion, they have even been caught on tape dismissing what is in fact rape. Which I think all women of goodwill should be upset about! Teenage girls impregnated by 20 somethings and Planned Parenthood advises them to write that they don’t know who the father is. How is that being loving and trying to help the whole person? How is that being a feminist ie promoting the good of the woman body mind and soul. The crisis pregnancy centers I work with will support you every step of the way, medically, emotionally, financially, and help you get back on your feet in terms of your education and profession.

    The last thing I want to say is that our countries greatest divides have always had to do with questions regarding who is a person. Our country fought a war because people would rather die than live in a country where men and women were treated as slaves. The civil rights furthered that proposition that all men and women are created equal. I think those of us who wish to protect the unborn, feel very close to that struggle to assert the dignity of every person. I assert that I am a prolife feminist. Abortion has two victims, the child and the mother. I have seen the deep wounds abortion leaves on woman. I am pro-woman and that is why I am pro-life.

  3. 3 tigress d
    October 31, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Hi there,

    Thanks for commenting. A couple of responses:

    1) Yes, there is an interview on the homepage with a pro-choice woman who works in a health clinic that provides abortions. But there’s also an interview with a feminist aspiring nun:

    http://www.girl-drive.com/2008/09/mid-week-memo-nuns-sex-and-contraception

    a gay Christian minister:

    http://www.girl-drive.com/2009/09/your-2-cents-becca/

    a single mother:

    http://www.girl-drive.com/2008/02/madison-katie/

    and at least a hundred other women who probably have all kinds of opinions about motherhood, pregnancy, choice, life, sex, and a whole lot of other issues. That’s one of the things I appreciate about the Girl Drive project. I think it, like you, is hoping to challenge and expand contemporary notions of feminism. I’d encourage you to look beyond the first video on the homepage that got you riled up.

    2) Please don’t presume to know what my feelings are about abortion. If forced to come down on a side, I’d come down on the pro-choice side, but with some serious hesitations. I think the whole issue is problematic, confusing, subtle, emotional, and complicated. More complicated than either side often acknowledges.

    3) Truly, thanks for commenting. I don’t mind being challenged on the things I post and I think it’s important for feminists of all kinds to contribute to the blog. I do, however, think that your comment didn’t deal with the Girl Drive project, but rather with a single issue you have strong feelings about.

  4. 4 Pro-Woman Pro-life
    November 1, 2009 at 2:38 am

    On all three points, I agree.
    1. I did not look past the first page.
    2. You are right I ought not to assume your thoughts on any issue. That was stereotyping. I apologize.
    3. You are probably right, I certainly do have strong feelings about abortion and other issues, but most of the time those strong feelings do come from a lot of careful thought, research and prayer. If it involves something like chocolate cake, mostly its just strong feelings.

    Take care.

  5. 5 Tigress Jenn
    November 19, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Going back to the original question… I’m in for the road-trip!


Leave a Reply

